Adjust text size

Internal Complaints Committee
  • Introduction
  • Committee Members
  • Activities

In response to the Vishaka Judgment passed by the Supreme Court in 1997, the University of Mumbai set up the ‘University Women Development Cell (UWDC)’ in 2001 with the key purpose of making the University a gender-sensitive space. The University also directed all its affiliated colleges to set up a ‘Women Development Cell’ at college level.

In compliance of this directive of the University, the Women Development Cell of Mithibai College was set up in the year 2004 under the chairmanship of Ms. (Prof.) Kinnari Ramanathan.  It is an active committee comprising of staff members and students of Mithibai College, and functions with an aim to prevent sexual harassment, promote well being of all the female students and staff members and create a gender sensitized community within campus as well as in the society.

According to the Supreme Court of India, the following constitutes sexual harassment:
1.Physical contact and advances
2.A demand or request for sexual favours
3.Sexually coloured remarks
4.Showing pornography
5.Any other unwelcome physical, verbal, or non-verbal conduct of sexual nature.

Internal complaints Committee (formerly WOMEN'S Development Cell )
1.Dr.Ujwala Deshmukh ( Convener/Presiding Officer) Ph.No. 9869819804

Two Faculty members:
2. Ms. Nilima Raval(9820894341)
3. Dr. Selina Shah(9820938051)
4. Dr. Keshmira Patel(9833006150)
5. Dr. Shailaja P. Nair
6. Mr. Rakesh V. Panse

Two non-teaching employees:
7. Ms. Vidula Sawant
8. Mr. Santosh Devre

Three students:
9. Shobhita Mahajan TYBMS (Marketing)
10. Prathana Singh MSc Part II

One member from amongst non-government organization:
11. Dr. Mona Shah (president- Rotary Club of Juhu Beach)
Women’s Day 2019
On the 8th of March, 2019, Women’s day, the Internal Complaints Committee organized an inspiring talk by Ms. Madhuvanti Date, faculty of SVKM’s Usha Pravin Gandhi  College of ……………………..
It was a session that many of us will remember for a long time. Ms. Date is a cancer survivor and spoke from her heart about her experiences, the initial denial, ‘why me’ period (which she later changed to ‘try me’ – a challenge to cancer), acceptance of the situation, taking one step at a time and ‘charging her battery’ each minute in her own words. She realized that being strong and having a positive attitude was her only choice. She held the attention of the audience with her story about how a combination of being strong and happy helped her take the cancer head on. She decided to befriend the otherwise-scary chemotherapy and radiation sessions, lived in the present, removed the ‘if-only’, and reaped the benefits of gratitude and ‘happitude’.
Her belief in affirmations, yoga, meditation, believing in the power of self, positive visualizations, blocking the mental chatter and feeling of abundance, along with regular health checkups and nutrition care helped her tide over the challenging period. The audience re-learnt the value of each healthy day and realized that challenges can be conquered with positivity.
  • The committee has initiated for Gender Audit Report for last five years